Brazil Fabulous

hair & beauty – brazilian style

DIY Keratin Hair Straighteners

It’s true that I spend an obscene amount of my working life researching and writing about hair products, and that I really do have an obsession with trying out the latest Brazilian hair straighteners, shampoos, conditioners, masks and oils the moment they hit the market. But it’s only because they’re so darned good.

So my almost encylopedic knowldege of these self indulgent delights means I’ve tried out more than my fair share of Brazilain Keratin Straighteners, over the last two years. Since I’ve been in Brazil these leave-in Keratin conditioners have come a long way and the latest chemical-free hair straighteners are far safer than older treatments, which contained the dreaded Formaldehyde, and most are incredibly easy to use.

Obviously, I won’t try and insult your intelligence by pretending that I don’t have something to sell here, but whether you buy my Brazilian keratin, or another of the products you can easily purchase online, the thing that’s stopping more frizzed out gals trying this fab new treatment is that heaps of you think it’s either too expensive to have done in a salon, or too difficult to do yourself.

Well today I’m busting one of those myths. Because it’s really, really easy… seriously.

For anyone who’s been put off trying a Keratin straightening treatment for themselves because you need a degree in science and a team of stylists to get great results, think again.

Admittedly applying Keratin straighteners at home is more fun with a friend, but really all you need is a mirror and a quiet evening. Most of the new Brazilian straighteners only have to be left in for 48 hours, as opposed to 72 with the older formulas, so it’s ideal to use at the weekend.

Incidently, if you’re thinking about buying a Keratin hair straightener which needs to be left for 72 hours it probably contains Formaldehyde. That’s not my sales hype, it’s the truth, so you have been warned 😮

In a nutshell, a DIY Keratin straightening treatment, at home, by yourself will take between an hour and a half and two hours. It’s a heck of a lot easier than using a relaxer, bleaching or home perming and it’s a lot more satisfying, because it actually works as well as it claims to.

I’m still comparing notes on how the various products on the market are applied, but so far they all seem to be pretty much the same. Next time I’ll be bringing you (near) universal instructions on applying the most popular keratin straighteners, giving you a chance to decide for yourself if it’s really worth all the bother. (which it absolutey is by the way)

In the meantime, how about a bit of blatant publicity?

I’m such a fan of Brazilian keratin hair straighteners, that I began selling it online. I even made the website myself. Now the choice of products here is ferocious, it really is. So there are dozens of brands on offer and I could have chosen whichever one I liked.

For me there was no choice.  Zene Progress is the smart girl’s weapon of choice in the battle against frizzy hair. It’s used in just about every salon in Brazil and at home by millions because it’s so easy to apply.

OK. Stay tuned, more coming and thanks for reading.

Love from the beach, BB

September 2, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

